cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ABAp or Java

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Friends,

I am new to SAP-XI. So one of my friend told me that if we have done JAVA or ABAP along with this it is very helpful for me. But i dont know that in which areas of XI is used JAVA or ABAP.

Thank you

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Just a Short overview:

Java->

Adapter Engine

Mapping Runtime

Java Proxys

ABAP->

Integration Engine

ABAP Proxys

ABAP Mapping

BPM

HTTP and IDOC Adapter

Right now you need for every szenario something of both.

As far as i know with PI 7.1 it is possible to communicate from Adapter to Adapter without passing the Integration Engine. So in future you can have some szenarios without ABAP.

Development Skills are always good in both languages. But i worked in arround 5 XI Projects without deep ABAP Development knowledge.

Of course you have to know the ABAP Stack... ALE ... RFC ... BAPI ..and so on ... but programming you need only for ABAP Proxy and ABAP Mapping.

regards,

Robin

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

former_member184619
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Ravi,

Quite difficult question to reply... I think u should know Both ABAP and JAVA.

Since it's a Integration technology. so we need atleast basic knowledge of ABAP , JAVA.

check this Blog for the same...

/people/sap.user72/blog/2005/12/22/new-to-xi

and This forum for Expert comments.

hope this will clear your dobut

Sachin

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

If you are working for R/3 systems...then you have to use IDOC Adapters.

Using IDOC's you have to know the configurations of ALE...for ABAP stack..

If you want to create UserDefined Functions where you will get the difficulty at mapping level...then you have to know the CoreJava atleast..

finally,

SAP XI product supports both ABAP stack and Java stack which clearly draws out a conclusion that either a good ABAP or JAVA professional can learn SAP XI.