cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MDM - Examples needed with Tables and Data

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to MDM. I just loaded the Console and Data Manager and connected to an MDM server. I am able to create a repository and browse in the Data Manager. However, I want to get some Table examples and data that go along with it. I am looking for a step by step guide to create some good tables and load actual data into it using a flat file or XML.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

You can try out this simple example

Assume a Material scenario. Try doing following tables in MDM repository

main table: Material

lookup table (of type taxonomy)- Industry type

lookup table (flat look up) - material Description

lookup table (flat look up) - material group

Refer standard R/3 tables like MARA, MAKT etc. Try to find their join relationships in R/3 so as relate it with look up table. Add releavant fields to respected tables.

Then execute a simple scenario by importing 2-3 records from flat/excel/xml file(Create a small file). If everything is in place, Import manager will import these records into repository.

To understand MDM further try to export the same records by using syndicator

Reference guides will provide you with the procedures of doing all the things

Hope this helps.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Mugdha,

Thank you for your response. I will try to do this example. However when I create a new repository, the Main table being created by default is 'Products" and I cannot change the name of it. Also I do not have any SAP R/3 system reference or lookup.

Former Member
0 Kudos

This is a good document on doing some matching / merging tasks with the data manager:

https://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/sdn/go/portal/prtroot/docs/library/uuid/40ef0099-b18d-2910-26ad-9ea57450...

Good place to start

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi