cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing on a SAP WAS on a Virtual Server running on a laptop

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am considering installing the WAS preview edition on a new very well-speced laptop (New Centrino Duo & 4GB RAM). I also wish to use the laptop for normal mobile computing purposes - so I am thinking it would be worthwhile investigating setting the WAS in a Virtual PC environment. The laptop's Santa Rosa chipset apparently includes support for virtualisation.

Microsoft has a new free piece of software called "Microsoft Virtual PC 2007" that can be installed on a Windows Vista PC and which I believe would allow me to run a virtual server of windows server 2003 + SAP WAS + MaxDB.

I assume with Virtual PC, you can turn off the virtual SAP server if you want to - so as not to affect the PC performance. It would also be convenient if the 180 trial expires, I just need to create a new virtual server.

I am completely new to virtualization so I'm interested to know whether anyone else tried doing this type of thing, whether this approach would work and if there are any tips/tricks to consider. Has anyone tried Virtual PC 2007 or should I use something like VMware?

Thanks

Adrian

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Adrian,

shouldn't be a problem, but don't expect blazing performance (but your configuration's quite appealing...).

I didn't try 2007 but the previous version (I think it was called 2003). No problems there, but we switched to VMWare since it could handle USB (which MS couldn't at that time). No problem there either...

Just go for it...

Peter

--

Points always appreciated

Former Member
0 Kudos

Actually Microsoft's Virtual PC2007 is a REAL DOG compared with VMWARE workstation or Parallels.