cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

auditing direct database access

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm a database security engineer and quite unfamiliar with SAP.

From the viewpoint of SOX/IT control, I just wonder if there is any necessity to audit Oracle database using Oracle's auditing features (audit_trail=db/os).

Privileged Oracle users can login to the database bypassing SAP application. In addition, they may be able to change any financial data by executing DML commands directly.

Is such scenario realistic?

I'd like your opinions.

Thanks in advance,

ebi

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

The administrative user connections are always audited regardless of the init.ora parameter audit_trail. Oracle 9i onwards, there is a new parameter, AUDIT_SYS_OPERATIONS which controls SYS auditing...

Vinod

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Ebi,

in my opinion all that Auditing is only interesting to watch your Administrators hands...

What do you need to access the oracle database?

- client-software ... at least a jdbc driver

(May be available on many computers)

- the hostname, the listener port, a network connection that works and the DB SID

(that should not be so easy... DB Server should be in a seperate network zone... at best only reachable via the Application Servers)

- OR: physical access to the database

(if that is possible... don't think of auditing anymore... there is no security then)

- a valid user account that has access to the SAP<sid> schema

(Ok, that should only be the SYSDBA/SYSTEM account, nothing else. Access to these accounts has to be highly secured. Not so much technically but much more on the "human side". It just has to be a real secret. Period.)

- you've to know at least a bit about the datamodel of SAP databases. Not that easy in a system with more than 40000 tables...