cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New in SAP - What additional skills are necessary?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I have recently done an internal move in my company and soon I am going to support SAP applications. I have been working , so far, for > 5 years supporting high availability e-Commerce J2EE applications.

From my first look on several forums I am a bit confused whether my acquired skills would be enough - in addition to the SAP training which I will get soon- in order to support SAP applications. Moreover, my main concern is whether I should get more involved on Java development, where the only practical experience is from university projects.

From what I see , having some development and scripting skills, combined with the SAP knowledge is highly required and is much more compensative than being a pure SAP system administrator.

What is your 2 cents on this issue?

Thanks in advance,

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Loukas,

As you have experience on JAVA and if you want to go to programming side then SAP Netweaver Enterprise Portal (EP) will be the best option for you. This involves main coding in JAVA. In addition you can also work with WebDynpro JAVA.

If you want less coding but to be related to JAVA then XI is the right path. Here you will mainly involve in configuration and less in coding. At the administrator side SAP BASIS is there if you have interest in SAP Administration.

Rest there is ABAP as programming language and various functional modules that are complete different and there is no use of JAVA as such in these.

Regards,

Subhasha

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Subhasha,