cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Experienced XI developers

Former Member
0 Kudos

Greetings,

I am pretty new in the field. I have just started working in the field. We have a sort of scenario:

( PLC -> Database ) is actually the requirement

However they have achieved this via:

( PLC -> .NET application -> SAP RFC -> Database )

Actually some data that is being recieved from PLC is to be saved in the database after some checks. The developers over here actually built a .NET (VB) application that uses the SAP .NET connector that performs the checks on the data. This in turn calls a SAP RFC that performs the function of saving of data in the database.

Now my question here is what advantage do i get in using SAP XI over here. I think the entire solution can be developed using Java Proxy -> XI -> database. However is there any advantage in doing so from a business point of view to a manager? The checks are pretty simple but are large in number, however they dont require in any case of any advanced functionality from BPM in XI. So i think experienced consultants are better in a situation to answer my question as i cant find a reason to reimplement what is already there. Thank you. Regards.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

MichalKrawczyk
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

the only reason why you'd like to build it into XI

is being able to watch all interfaces from one tool (XI)

manager may think:

- ok I will need only one admin that will know how to deal with XI

(and not a custom based application)

- I will be able to modify it easily in the future with any XI developer

Regards,

michal

-

<a href="/people/michal.krawczyk2/blog/2005/06/28/xipi-faq-frequently-asked-questions"><b>XI / PI FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions</b></a>

Former Member
0 Kudos