cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hierarchies in demand planning

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear All,

I would like to know if anyone of you have used the hierarchies feature in the info-object definition.

Say, I have Division, Category, Brand, Packsize and SKU as the levels of hierarchies, how can I tell the system this exact hierarchy level. If I have created an info-object "SKU code", there is a hierarchy tab wherein I can define this hierarchies in a particular order. But I have never used it before.

Could someone explain me more on this. If you have any standard proceedures for this please let me know.

Regards,

Kedar

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

somnath_manna
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Kedar,

I think these are more relevant for BI especially for reporting purposes and not so for APO Demand Planning functionalities.

Also please check which may be relevant for you.

Thanks,

somnath

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Somnath,

Thanks for the inputs. So typically in APO DP, the hierarchies are defined only by creating attributes of a base characteristic?

regards,

kedar

somnath_manna
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

No - in DP there is no "hierarchy" like in BW.

You can create navigational attributes of a base characteristic just for navigation and selection purpose but should not be used for planning (i.e. editing or entering data).

In APO DP planning is carried out at a characteristic value combination (CVC) level. For example Product, Product Group, Customer Location, Sales Office etc. are different characteristics. This is defined in Master Planning Object Structure. Then you create CVCs by populating unique value combinations for these characteristics.

In the data view when you access data you select these CVCs (lowest level or at an aggregate level) in the shuffler and the according data in keyfigures is displayed.