cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAPRFC return columns misaligned

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to the SAP world but I have worked extensively w/ PHP over the last 6 years. A client of mine recently converted to SAP and I am trying to write some interfaces in PHP and avoid the .NET connector if possible.

I installed the SAPRFC extension without issue. I ran the sample scripts which appeared at first ran w/o issue. As I began writing my interfaces to some custom RFCs the client had developed, I got some wierd return values. We are expecting a return table w/ 2 fields: MATNO c(18), DESC c(40). However, we are being returned values c(36) and c(80). The return values are running together in the first field and being returned incorrectly. It appears that the saprfc library is misinterpretting return values. We also have an issue where we have 2 import parameters, but the ABAP functions only sees one incoming. This was confirmed by the in-house ABAP developer who watched in some debug mode.

I went back to look at some of the samples again to see what I might be doing wrong, and upon furthur inspection, the samples return incorrect values as well. The username -> user id example has the same symptoms: each return field is doubled in length, and the username field contains both name and id, and the id return value is empty.

Both directions, IMPORT and EXPORT, are mangling the values being passed back and forth. Is there a value or something that I may not be setting somewhere that affects this? Do I need to specify field lengths for all incoming and outgoing parameters? The saprfc_function_debug_info() function returns the wrong data which is why I believe this is a low level issue. Could it be a unicode vs. non-unicode issue? How can I check?

A quick test using the .NET connector shows that the ABAP functions indeed return the correct result, just not through the saprfc php connector.