cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archivelog

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi gurus,

I installed mySAP ERP 2005 to one of my client with Linux/MaxDB platform. I was on the packages update when the system hangs. I found out that the mount point for the database logs has only 91% remaining. Because i am new with MaxDB, could you give me instructions how to archive those logs created by my MaxDB Database? I also tried to stopsap but it hangs, also stopdb but message "there are still active users connected to the database. In order to shutdown the databse with stopdb, you first have to stop all database applications. This includes MCOD instances and database utilities". How could i stopsap my system?

pls. help

regards,

Jay

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

nelis
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Jay,

Download the DBMGUI from http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/maxdb/7.6.00.html and then try connect to the database. The DBMGUI is very easy to use for doing backups and has a wizard to help you with the process. It only runs on Windows unfortunately but in my opinion it is a must have.

To shutdown SAP make sure nobody is connected to the instance(use transaction al08 to check globally and sm04 to check on current instance), then shutdown any application servers first. You should then just be able to do a 'stopsap r3' which will only shutdown the instance and not the database. Once you are sure nobody is connected and instance is shutdown you can connect via dbmcli -d <SID> -u user,password to MAXDB and run 'db_state' to check current status and then 'db_offline' to shutdown the database if needed. I would first try to use the DBMGUI as mentioned above to backup your logs.

Hope that helps.

Regards,

Nelis

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi Nelis,

Thanks for quick response. Can i install DBMGUI on my desktop and connect to the database?