cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sender / Receiver on DEBMAS customer IDOCs mapped from XI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello XI experts,

I'm hoping you can help me resolve a question.

In our system, customers are maintained in an AFS ERP system. They are then distributed to MDM, via XI, using DEBMDM messages.

We have a second (Retail) ERP system that also needs the customer data. An XI colleague has created a mapping, so that the DEBMDM IDOC from AFS is mapped to DEBMAS and ADRMAS IDOCs, which are sent to AFS.

Functionally this works fine: the customer data from AFS goes to both MDM and retail as expected.

The question is on the IDOCs arriving in Retail. They have the same logical system for the Sender and Receiver, which is the Retail logical system. So it looks like the IDOCs have been created in Retail and then processed, rather than being created in XI. However in XI, in transaction IDX5, we can see IDOC numbers. I'm a developer with no XI experience, so I may be misunderstanding how XI works.

- Does XI actually create an IDOC locally and then send it out?

- Or would XI be calling some kind of RFC in my Retail system to build the IDOC there?

- If the IDOC is built locally, can anyone suggest why I am getting the sending partner to be the same as the receiver?

Even if the sending and receiving systems are set in the XI mapping, the values still get overwritten with the Retail logical system.

Many thanks, Roger

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Roger,

you are getting the same sender and rcvr in IDoc control record because,

in XI you have used the same business system name as sender and recvr.

As the normally control record data is populated automatically in IDocs, although we can over write or hard code them as well.

Resolution: a) Use 2 different system names for sender and recver.

OR