cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference Between a Structure and a Table in ABAP

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I'm new to SAP and ABAP. Could any body tell me what are the differences between a structure and a Table in ABAP?

I used Trans se16 to view the content of what I thought to be a table but I got the Message that it was a structure and not a table. Is there any transaction I could use to view the content of the structure?

Thank you.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member

I guess you have looked at a standard SAP transaction and fit F1 help, followed by F9 technical information on a field?

You were hoping to find where the data was stored for a given transaction?

Unfortunately its not so easy. SAP often selects data from the database and then formats it before presenting it on the screen. Often it creates structures with specific fields (which may span many tables) to paint onto the screen.

To find where the data is actually stored you need to dig deeper than just the screen.

Ways to find the tables include:

- use SQL trace ST05 (and a display transaction)

- look at the code of the transaction

- search in SE11 and repository info system SE84

- experience

- I'm sure there are others...

Hope that helps.

Brad

Answers (9)

Answers (9)

Former Member

HI

Structure can have only single record at run time..

whereas table can have multiple records ..

Praveen.

former_member191161
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi all,

How to find storage table by using particular field value...???

former_member184367
Active Participant
0 Kudos

This message was moderated.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Structure in ABAP can not store data.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

In simple words we can say a table has an underlying database in it, while a structure has no underlying database.

Sapna

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,