cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with SAP terminology & team development

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I'm having a difficult time comprehending the SAP terminology in the JDI.

I've been doing Java development for 6 years now so I feel like I have a good handle on Java terminology. I do NOT have any ABAP experience.

What would help me is some documentation that explains the meaning and purpose of the following:

- Product

- Domain

- Software Component

- Activity

- Development Component

I've been going thru the "Tutorial for Scenario 2+: Development with a Track" documentation

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw04/helpdata/en/21/82a9058fa8de46b1ba7522289345b2/frameset.htm

The tutorial uses all these terms but it doesn't really explain them in detail or in such a way that someone with a Java background can understand them.

Does anyone know of any documentation about team programming that is more detailed than the tutorial?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

David.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi David

Product is the one final relese let us say JDK 1.4.0 it is a combination of software components

Software component is group of Dovelopment components (DC)where as DC is group of Dovelopement objects( example simple javafile, webdynpro view, JSP,Servlet,HTML).

To Know more about TracK,domain,Activity ..go through the following link

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_erp2004/helpdata/en/56/d5a23fa34ffb47e10000000a114084/frameset.htm (infact its a part of Scenario 2+)

hope this helped you

Regards,

RK

Former Member
0 Kudos

RK,

Thanks for the link. I'll check that out.

David.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi David Some more Info

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw04/helpdata/en/49/d0ae143e94774a9423ca8c009dc76f/frameset.htm

Definitions