cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing MDME 5.5

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm just a beginner in MDME 5.5, and i have some problems in the install process. This is the steps that i take:

1 - Install the Oracle Server

3 - Create the database with character set WE8MSWIN1252

2 - Install the Oracle client (in the same server)

3 - Install the MDME Server

4 - Install the MDME Console.

After install and reboot the machine, i open the MDME console, locate and start the server. Then i try to create a repository, or enter the DBMS setting: it display the "select DBMS server" dialog. I select the server, the login (system) and password for the DBMS.

But then it displays the message: " Error initializing database engine" and " Cannot get DBMS settings from server".

In log there is: "ERROR CODE=12514 ||| ORA-12514: TNS:listener could not resolve SERVICE_NAME given in connect descriptor"

There is a listener activate, and configured for port 1521. I know than i'm doing some mistake, but can someone help me? please!

Thanks in advance!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Here is the extract from the install guide page 6. If you have followed all the steps detailed in here then you should be able to get it working. Thanks!

Configuring an Oracle DBMS

MDME Server can connect to an Oracle 9.2.x DBMS.

1. MDME Server supports only the following character set on the Oracle database:.“WE8MSWIN1252”.

2. Install Oracle and Create a Database

a. Install the Oracle DBMS software. You may be installing both DBMS and Client portions of Oracle if you plan to host Oracle on the same machine as MDME. If the DBMS will reside on another host machine, the MDME engine will require only the Oracle Client software to be installed. On a fresh install of Oracle on a Windows platform, be sure to reboot the machine so that the MDME service can inherit the Oracle “Path” from the system.