Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XI doubt

harri_kishan
Participant
0 Kudos

hi,

I am new to XI i want to get some information. What is XI replacing in the existing SAP Technology. So should i learn EDI or XI keeping the future in mind ? I am thinking to enter to this new dimension products so suggest me ?

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

harri_kishan
Participant
0 Kudos

THank you

MichalKrawczyk
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

>>>>What is XI replacing in the existing SAP Technology.

sap business connector

>>>So should i learn EDI or XI keeping the future in mind ?

XI allows you to do EDI (via SAP conversion agent)

Regards,

michal

harri_kishan
Participant
0 Kudos

thank you for the inputs u hav given but can u be more clear so in order to learn XI i should also be having knowledge of EDI or if u can be clear like if u can explain it me in some technical terms it would be great

cdumont69
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello,

You can also do EDI with See Burger or IWAY connector.

See this link : http://service.sap.com/xi -> SAP NetWeaver -> SAP NetWeaver in Detail -> Process Integration -> SAP Exchange Infrastructure -> Connectivity -> Connectivity SAP XI 3.0

Oups I find a shortcut : http://service.sap.com/~form/sapnet?_SHORTKEY=01100035870000626433&;

Best regards,

Chris

Message was edited by:

Christophe DUMONT

agasthuri_doss
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

knowledge in EDI is added advantage.

Regards

Agasthuri Doss

MichalKrawczyk
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

hi,

to learn XI you need to have either ABAP of java knowledge

(to be able to do mappings and write proxies)

but if you will have to do EDI via XI

pure EDI knowledge will come in handy

if you talk about EDI in SAP terms (EDI, ALE)

you also need this to be able to send IDOCs to XI

Regards,

michal

-

<a href="/people/michal.krawczyk2/blog/2005/06/28/xipi-faq-frequently-asked-questions"><b>XI / PI FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions</b></a>

harri_kishan