cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logical Data Model Diagram - Views

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I'm a relative newbie to PD.  Currently documenting a large LDM (250+ Entities).

After creating the master ERD to include all 250+ Entities I want to break the model down into subject areas (e.g. Customer, Account etc.)  I've found the option to Copy and paste selected entities and their associations into another diagram. However after doing this some changes (e.g. Colour) made to the original version of an entity do not get cascaded to the copied version.

Is there a  way to create a 'view' on the original where only entities relevant to subject area are visible in the view ( a filter) but any changes made to the original are automatically visible in the view.

I'm happy to be pointed to the correct part of the manual(s)

Thanks  Pete

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

GeorgeMcGeachie
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Pete, welcome to the PD world

When you copy and paste symbols in a PD diagram, it actually creates copies of the original objects, as I'm sure you found out. You can avoid this by using 'paste as shortcut' (or using Ctrl+K) which creates new symbols that link to the original objects. The style of the new symbols depends on the display preferences in the diagram you're pasting into. If you're creating a brand-new diagram that needs to contain certain symbols, here's the best way:

• select the symbols you want your new diagram to contain
  • right-click one of the selected symbols, and choose 'Create Diagram from Selection'
  • a new diagram will be created, with the same display preferences as the original diagram, and copies of all the selected symbols