cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Visualizing non-business data

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am a novice at visualization.  I am trying to create a visualization with non-business data that shows start and stops in a linear fashion.

I am using genome data that contains start/stop coordinates.  Each patient has multiple start/stops per chromosome.  I would like to show for each patient all the start and stops along a straight line/column/bar.

Example data:

Patient = 12

Chromo = chrX

Start = 10     Stop = 15

Start = 24     Stop = 32

Start = 45     Stop = 47

And so on...

Anybody got an ideas?

Thanks so much

Cindy

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

varunanand
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Cindy,

Here are a few suggestions, where we are just looking at Chr x.

Start = Sales, Stop = Profit, Product Category = Patient, Year = Each count of start and stop.

The following would be for a bar graph,

You can replicate the same for a line chart,

The idea is to,

• use an analogy to replicate your scenario.
  • show Start and Stop across various instances.
  • leverage Trellis to show across multiple patients or chromosome.

Please let me know if there are any questions or comments.

Thank you,

Varun Anand

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you so much.  Unfortunately that isn't what I was looking for.  I've uploaded a drawing of what I was hoping to represent.  Thank you for your time.

varunanand
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Cindy,

The closest that I can think is to use a Stacked Bar Chart. But you would need to model the data a bit in the prepare tab and change the aggregation of the measures to get the pattern you mentioned.

Thank you,

Varun Anand

varunanand
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Cindy,

I also found this article on using a Timeline Chart .

But as Jay and I mentioned you would need to prepare your data accordingly.

Thank you,

Varun Anand

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos