cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuring the Generic Search for multiple Business Objects

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

beeing quite new to SAP MDG I'm evaluating the possibilities of the MDG Generic Search.

What I would like to do is to implement a search involving multiple custom objects in a sense of joining. I.e. we have a data model consisting of multiple object types with arbitrarily relations and cardinalities and the search (and the result list) must look into more than one table to find the wanted results.

I have read the related documentation under Configuring the Generic Search for a Particular Business Object - SAP Master Data Governance - SAP L... and I was able to set up a search for one of my entities. But now I'm wondering how to implement this for multiple objects without violating any standards. (Maybe I have to mention that I'm quite new in the SAP world overall :-)).

Is there an additional guide that I have overlooked?

The parent chapter Configuration of the Generic Search - SAP Master Data Governance - SAP Library suggests, that there is also a predefined search not only for a particular BO but also for an entire model or above. But I still have not found how to start it (or a sample) for further studies.

So at the moment the only idea I have is to implement a custom feeder class (inheriting CL_USMD_SEARCH_GUIBB_DQUERY) and override the concerned methods. But I'm not sure whether this is a legal way.

The alternative I see is to develop a completely new and custom Search UI but of course I do not want to "reinvent the wheel" ...

Does anyone know / can someone tell me what's the right way to implement the above mentioned search in MDG?

Many thanks & best regards

Brahmadeva

At the moment we are working with the Standard DB Seach but this will change in the future. Will the same concepts also be valid with Embedded or Enterprise Search?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos