cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Duplicate Attribute Name in HANA procedure

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm a beginner and just wanted to ask a basic question.

I have two tables

1. Employee (emp_id, emp_name, emp_grp, salary, level, skill)
  2. Bonus (skill, level, bonus)

in my procedure I'm joining these two table and storing in variable.

I'm getting Duplicate attribute name error.

I assume this is because I had skill and level as common name in both tables.

After changing the column names in Bonus table to B_SKILL and B_LEVEL, issue was resolved.

But I believe there has to be a better way to fix this because changing the column name will not be feasible every time.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

michael_eaton3
Active Contributor

Hello

There is indeed a solution to this - explicitly listing the columns you require, and column aliases.

You haven't showed SQL, however I guess it is something like this

select

from

employee, bonus

where

employee.skill = bonus.skill and employee.level = employee.level

This won't work as the column skill exists in both tables, and using * isn't a good idea anywhere except when messing about.  The easiest solution would be to explicitly list the columns in the select clause as below (I added a table alias too, you know, just for fun).  There's no need to pull the skill column twice, as it will have the same value in this case

select

e.emp_id, e.skill, e.level, b.bonus

from

employee e, bonus b

where

e.skill = b.skill and e.level = b.level

In some cases you might want the values from both skill columns (an outer join for example), then in which case you can alias the columns, as below

select

e.emp_id, e.skill as emp_skill, b.skill as bonus_skill, e.level, b.bonus

from

employee e, bonus b

Michael

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the detailed answer Michael this is exactly what I needed.