cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Access Measures from 'Create calculated dimension' Tool

0 Kudos

Hi everyone,

I am very new to PA (2.5, trial version) and still have few questions about it. Since I come from "R", I am mostly interested in the Expert mode.

My question is related to the creation of a new dimension in the Prepare room. Actually I would like to reproduce the Automated process when finding a dimension with let say Null/<empty> values, if the dimension is numerical: i.e. I intend to create a new dimension where any Null values are replaced by the Average dimension value.

From the prepare room, I am perfectly able to filter the dimension and retrieve any row with Null value but I cannot replace them directly (limitation from trial version ?).

Hence I decided to create a new dimension from "Create calculated dimension"; however in the "script edition" panel I cannot access to the Measures I have created. So if I do not know the exact value of the Average, I cannot go this way.

Finally, I found a (quite tedious) way going through the Predict room :

1) add a Formula component to my initial data set that is able to compute the Average

2) write the filtered data set

3) go back to Prepare room

4) add a new data set (the one formely created)

5) merge the two data sets

6) create a new calculated dimension from the original dimension + the second dimension containing the Avg => if IsNull(val) then {Average-val} else {val}

I assume I would do the same if instead of replacing Null values by the Average I would like to use a predictive model (regression for instance)?

If this seems to work on my small CSV data set, I assume there is a nicer way to proceed??

Thank you!

R.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

abdel_dadouche
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Romain,