cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Personas 2 Scripting: Creating Alert Dialogues

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I want to introduce a decision dialogue into my script - pop-up box with 'Do you want want to do X?" - Yes or No reply. The script picks up the response and carries on as appropriate.

I found this KB article by Clemens Gantert & Tamas Hoznek - https://wiki.scn.sap.com/wiki/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=393320781 which seems to suggest that this is possible.... "This article describes how to create alerts and confirmation dialogs in Personas Scripting with the method session.utils.showOptionDialog()."

I'm a total novice when it comes to JavaScript so please forgive my naivety here but I assumed that if I stuck the code snippets into a Personas Script that contained just one ‘Calculate in JavaScript’ line, I would get the dialogue box described in the article and I could build up from there but that one line is giving me a script error – ‘JavaScript Error’.

Can anyone get me on the right track please?

Regards.

Patrick.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

tamas_hoznek
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

The KB article is for Personas 3.0 and this won't work in 2.0

You could do something like this in a JavaScript step in 2.0 and it works. Not sure if this will be enough for what you want to achieve, but it's a start:

if (confirm('Are you sure you want to continue?')) {

alert("yes");

} else {

alert("no");

}

However this will restrict you to stay in the JavaScript step for further actions after the decision, and it is not able to control further steps in your Personas script. Also, your options are restricted to 'Yes' or Cancel'.

Edit: Actually, there is a way to use this to control the Personas script.

Do this:

In the JS step, use this code:

if (confirm('Are you sure you want to continue?')) {

args.reply = 'Yes';

} else {

args.reply = 'No';

}