cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What actually causes PI to "start" ?

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am an absolute beginner with PI so my question may not make a lot of sense.

We have a modified version of t-code F110 (Payments) that creates an IDoc file for our bank (ACH and Wire Payments).

The file gets encrypted via PGP and sent to the bank.

Everything works fine but I don't understand what causes PI to run in the first place.

Does the ABAP program that runs from F110 send a separate message to PI?

Is there some PI agent running all the time that looks in the folder specified in the Sender Communication Channel?

Just putting a file in a folder by itself shouldn't do anything.

What tells PI to do something?

Damon

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

PI will have sender channel with polling frequency set... PI channel will keep polling the folder path for interval  - (where sap generated the file and placed).

PI will pick the file and perform PGP ,send to Bank.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Ram,

That seems correct... the Sender Communication Channel polls once every 10 minutes.

One follow up question if you don't mind;

I know the file is sent to the bank twice a day (10:52 AM and 4:52 PM right to the second)...

I can see that in the Message Monitor.

So a similar question for the receiver would be, is the file somehow waiting somewhere until it becomes the "right time" to go to the bank?

Former Member
0 Kudos

check the channel monitoring for the sender channel is having any availability planning set up..

or

SAP will have job to generate the file daily twice.. one in the morning and other evening end of business...

nitindeshpande
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Damon,

Have you SWIFT (Auto-Cient/ Alliance Converter) in your system landscape for Bank communication?