Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with ESS Standard WDA roles and Launch pad customization

VWITS01
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

We have recently implemented ESS/MSS portal and we are at NW 7.4 using WDA roles, trying to launch services on portal.

Before explaining my issue here, would like to mention I am a functional consultant and quite new to portal stuffs but since I am carrying this activity on my own, I need your assistance to get it through.

In order to launch WDA services, we have activated relevant business functions and have uploaded PFCG ESS and MSS roles to portal.

To access the ESS services, I followed below process:

I had initially assigned Z copy of  standard SAP ESS roles for WDA "pcd:portal_content/Z_SAP_EMPLOYEE_XX_ESS_WDA_3"(PFCG role uploaded to Portal) - This was showing me different look and feel of ESS but I was able to launch my all ESS services successfully. But when I was changing anything launch pad - Role:ESS Instance: Menu, nothing was reflecting over ESS portal and hence I raised this thread on SCN.

I have made record time invisible but still it is not getting hidden from ESS portal.

Then

Later I assigned Employee standard ESS role "pcd:portal_content/com.sap.pct.erp.ess.wda.bp_folder/com.sap.pct.erp.ess.wda.roles/com.sap.pct.erp.ess.wda.Employee_Self_Service_WDA" (Role got from Portal content under admin)

I could see my launchpad changes are reflecting on ESS portal and now I can hide the services I do not want.

But now I am struggling with services which are not getting open - nothing I can do . Some linking node is missing I think.

So main Challenge is to understand the link of ESS/MSS roles and related launchpad.

If I have uploaded PFCG roles and same role is assigned to user,why standard launch pad is not working for it.

If I am using standard ESS role from portal content, launchpad changes are reflecting but none of the services are getting.

Seeking Expert's input on this,