cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change default Incident SNRO from CRM_INCDNT to Z*

0 Kudos

Hi All,

When I replicate a new transaction type from SMIN into (let's say) ZMN1, by default SNRO CRM_INCDNT still being used in that new copied transaction type. I know that I can change the internal number range from (default) '01' to something else 'Zx'.

It is also clearly explained in this article.

However, I would like to know if I can change the number range object from CRM_INCDNT to another new custom number range that I defined. How can I achieve that?

Also, what is the impact (probably the the shortage?) if I use a custom SNRO compare to default SNRO assigned by SAP?

Appreciate your feedback.

Thanks,

Dinivian.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Thanks Paul and Miguel for the comment!

I am new to this ITSM configuration.

The reason I raise this question is that I am thinking the chance of standard numbering object (either incident/ problem) range is running out by the time it is being used.

Again, it is new for me. But based on your experience how this default SNRO will sustain the customer need? Let's say if you are using one Solman system for multiple client as a ticketing system.

Best regards,

Dondi

Miguel_Ariño
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hello,

the standard number range starts at 8000000001 (10 figures) and ends at 8999999999 if I remember correctly.

With this numbering, you can have close to 1000 million incidents in your Solution Manager system, if you use the whole number range.  There will sometimes be gaps, but in all, it will be close to 1000 million. If you get a million incidents a year (which is about 0% likely), you'd still get quite a few years out of the number range.

I don't think you are liable to running out of numbers for incidents, unless you process several times more incidents than all of SAP Support for centuries (If my math is correct)

Best regards,

Miguel Ariño