Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finish Material GR for project and Costing and accounting entries

solomon_macwan
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi guys,

I am new to PS and need your help in understanding some points. I have gone through the help and other post but unable to understand the concept behind it.

We have created project, wbs, activity and components assign to them, I am able to calculate plan cost and after confirming the activity we are able to calculate the actual cost.

please help me to understand following doubts.--

1) where can i assign finish product in project, so that i can do the gr for it, some post suggest that fg can be maintain as a -ve qty in project. but is there any other way, some post also suggest that movement type 222 q can be done, but in that case what about the accounting entries. please note that we are not doing milestone confirmation.

2) as I said we can calculate cost for the project for other activities and components but -- how can we push the cost of the project to the finished product. i think it is entirely depend upon the assignment of the finished product.

Thanks and Regards,

Solomon

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

kenmelching
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

PS is used primarily when you are in a make-to-order business.  This is when the finished good cannot be defined prior to beginning the work or it is highly variable.

The WBS structure holds the costs and revenues and provides the vehicle to analyze profitability.  In this business environment the revenue is determined and billed on a Sales Document but it is passed to the assigned WBS for reporting.

Materials assigned to a PS structure create requirements that are fed to MRP where PP or Purchasing takes over to produce those materials.  Upon completion they are issued to the PS object and their costs are now included in the project.