Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why not activate S_RFCACL in SAP_ALL? (no, really!)

0 Kudos

This should be a fun Q&A ... but I'm not (only) doing it for the fun ...

First, I expect this will offend some sensibilities and stir some emotions (much like when someone says "I use RAID as my backup"). That can easily lead to automatic or knee-jerk answers that I would like to avoid. Let me note that I've been doing SAP Security/Authorizations for 17 years, so, while I don't know everything / there is a lot I still don't know (the trusted RFC area being one of them), there's no need to answer as if I am a newbie who has zero idea of what he's doing.

[I hope that noting such will save a lot of wasted time & text that may try to teach me the basics.]

Second, I am aware of the following (specific to this question):

• the intended function and controls of S_RFCACL: to allow a user to use a trusted RFC into the assigned client (I have both reading and practical-use knowledge in this area, e.g., we've implemented some Fiori here)
  • the default restrictions on S_RFCACL (e.g., how hard it is to get a star into some of those fields; the default exclusion from SAP_ALL, obviously)
  • that there exists a flag that allows S_RFCACL to be incorporated into SAP_ALL with each regeneration
  • that "everyone" says to never activate that flag

Sample Use Case: