cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change the variable type and how to dichotomize in PA Expert Mode

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to SAP Predictive Analytics and I want to ask you some questions about it. Currently I am using the desktop installation of SAP Predictive Analytics 2.3.

My first question is if it is possible to change the type(nominal, ordinal, continous) of each variable in the expert mode manually? I found it on the Automated Analytics but not in the Expert Analytics. Unfortunately I wasnt able to find it in the sap expert user guide aswell.

Secondly, what do you think about dichotomizing for example a variable that contains a category or color according to the behaviour of the algorithms?

Will this may improve the results of the algorithms?

Thanks in advance and kind regards,

Christopher

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Christopher,

In SAP PA Expert mode, you don't have categories like ordinal or continuous or nominal. In Expert Mode there is textual, numerical, Date wise  data types.

The part dichotomizing, can you explain it in bit detail?

Regards

Ranajay

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ranajay,

thank you for your quick reply!

According to your question. Imagine you sale different products in three colors. A possible structure of the data could look like this:

Product nameProduct color
Product AGreen
Product ARed
Product AYellow
Product BGreen

The question is now if the following structure of the data gain a better model with the different algorithms of SAP PA. 

Product namegreen_flagred_flagyellow_flag
Product Atruefalsefalse
Product Afalsetruefalse
Product Afalsefalsetrue
Product Btruefalsefalse

Do you know if there are some best practices for this kind of issue?

Kind regards,

Christopher

Former Member
0 Kudos

What exactly you want to predict here? Depending on that model will be selected.

Former Member
0 Kudos