cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sap BW on HANA migration using DMO

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Guyz,

I am new to HANA migration , currently am planning to migrate our SAP BW 7.4 SP9 system to HANA,  and I have already installed the HANA system and its up and running.

Our source BW system is on Windows/SQL server and HANA is on Linux and both are hosted on AWS cloud. Now I have a challenge to run the migration using DMO, because couple of blogs says DMO cannot be used for Windows as its uses memory pipes and some say we can switch the mode by changing the parameter.

So can someone confirm If I can run DMO using SUM 14  for the migration by changing the parameter from pipe to socket??? or do I need to use SWPM to use either the File mode or socket mode as DMO doesn't support Windows??

I even tried the SUM benchmark tool and  thought I can run the migration using the benchmark tool, later I found its using memory pipes and I cannot perform the migration. So can we really use benchmarking tool for the real migration or only it is used to analyse and estimate the time of DMO.

Your suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Regards,
Anil

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

CharlesChen
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

Hi Anil,

The DMO function can migration any DB(including MSSQL) to HANA.

Maybe you can check the latest DMO guide for detailed information.

Best regards,

Charles

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Charles,

can you confirm If I can use DMO for Windows using memory pipes or should I need to switch the mode from pipe to socket??

Regards,

Anil

Boris_Rubarth
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hi Anil,

see :

"For windows OS, the pipe mode is enabled starting with SUM SP13 (available since April 28th 2015)"

This is per default.

Regards, Boris

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Borris,