Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Prepare Data - "Convert to number" without duplicating column

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hey everyone,

I'm new to Lumira.

I have an Excel file containing several columns with numeric data. The number format for these columns in Excel is set to "number" as well.

However, when I import the data into Lumira, the program thinks the data is text rather than numbers.

When I try to mark a column and click "convert to number", it doesn't change the format of the column in question but rather duplicates the column. E.g. it would produce a column called "Sales (2)" which is in a number format, next to the original "Sales" column in the text format.

When I try to delete the original "Sales" column and just keep "Sales (2)" it doesn't work. As soon as I delete the original column, the duplicate column in deleted as well.

Can anybody help? I just want my columns to be in "123" instead of "ABC" format. And not have every column duplicated and end up with 20+ columns.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Alex

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I have been facing the same problem for a while.  I assumed Lumira Version 1.29 might fix the problem.  This morning, with the new version 1.29- the same problem exists.

Displaying image.png

When you have multiple columns, the workaround ( Dimensions to numbers to measures) is time consuming and ineffective way to import data

S

Inline image 1

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you.

Yes, it's time consuming. Plus you can never get rid of the original dimensions. So in your case you will always have NOV (ABC), NOV (123), DEC (ABC), DEC (123), JAN (ABC), JAN (123) etc.

You can hide some columns, but the ABC dimensions (NOV (ABC), DEC (ABC) etc.) will always show up in the list of dimensions in "Visualize" mode. No way to delete them. Just makes the list long and confusing.

mike_howles4
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Srin,