Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noob question: SAP Predictive Analytics vs SAP Hana + R

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello SAP world!

i'm a newbie to the SAP world so excuse me if the question looks dumb

So, as far as i can understand i can create mostly any kind of model using my R code integrated on SAP Hana.

So, why would i want to use SAP Predictive Analytics?

Do i miss smth?

Thanks in advance to everyone!

igor.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

PPaolo
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hello Igor,

that's actually a good question!

Using R in HANA is a very good approach but you have to be a good developer and know how to use HANA Studio on top of being expert in predictive algorithms.

If you want to think more about the pure 'data science' part of your tasks rather than on the 'IT' part of development then a tool such as SAP Predictive Analytics can help.

With SAP Predictive Analytics e.g. you have a UI for doing data preparation instead of developing code for that. Similarly, in the application you have pre-build visualizations which can show you the results of your algorithms and help in their analysis.

Moreover SAP Predictive Analytics already provides ready-to-use algorithms, can connect to the existing HANA predictive libraries or can consume R: you just have to drag & drop one of those algorythms and not worry about writing them.

Last but not least, SAP Predictive Analytics contains an 'Automated' mode where various tasks which usually take a lot of time are automated as much as possible (e.g. a large part of data preparation, the application of the model to new data, the deployment of the model into a database or inside an existing programming code and the lifecycle management of your models).