Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Barcode Scanner to read maintenance order number

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi experts!

I have a question regarding Barcode Scanner and integration of it into a Z-Report. I have found a lot of threads but none of them is really helpful to me due to the fact that I am totally new in this field of application.

The requirement is as follows:

Our customer wants to start SAP in production hall/garage or whatever. In there, the employee scans the barcode of a maintenance order which he has to process. Simplest scenario to proceed:

--> The Maintenance order number should be stored in a ZTable with the time stamp, when the order was scanned by the reader. My questions now are:

1.) How can I use the information read by the barcode reader?

1.1) Is it possible to trigger an event when the barcode is read or is it better to solve this with a Z-Report/Z-Transaction?

2.) Are there any configurations which have to be done in order to use this functionality?

3.) Which Interface (Classes or FM) are provided by SAP to handle this kind of requirements?

4.) Do you have any sample programs or step by step examples to read barcode and use it in report?

Any helpful answer will be rewarded. Thanks in advance,

Best Regards,

Patrick

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

0 Kudos

Hi Patrick,

In case you still haven't solved the issue, it is quite simple: a scanner is just a regular keyboard, another tool to input values.

Bellow an example using a selection-screen report. There are 2 important things to keep in mind:

1-      make sure the cursor sets on the right input field you want the scanner to capture the order number to. This is handy because the users won’t have to  do that themselves by dragging and clicking the mouse.