cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BO Explorer: Indexing error

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dears!

I am pretty new with BO Explorer and we have been experiencing for some weeks (over a month) an indexing process issue: it fails to run.

The error message is the following:

Server xxxxxxx generated the following messages:

Index Creation Failed (while trying to invoke the method com.businessobjects.datadiscovery.dataprovider.lucene.exploration.result.ILuceneMember.getKey() of a null object loaded from local variable 'member')

The amount of data is quite huge and the number of columns as well. 9 millions of records for 59 facets and 4 Measures.

SAP is unabled to give an answer (this high priority case has been raised 2 weeks ago already and still almost no releavant answer).

We tried to split the data into 2 views and it worked.

Removing some detailed facets works also but it is not a satisfying solution as the customer does want to see all of them at a glance.

I would really appreciate any input which would help to resolve our problem!

Thanks a lot.

Cyril.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

0 Kudos

Hi Cyril,

I reactivate this subject in order to have more info about your issue.

You create UNV on BW datasource. You have a lot of dimensions (59) and few measures (4).

1-Question : do you know, approximately, the total number of distinct values for dimensions ?

You said you removed some detailed facets to work.

2-Question : What do you mean with 'detailed facet' ? any particular/special dimension ?

You have 2 Explorer servers :

3-Question : do you mean that you have 2 x 4 Explorer servers (index, exploration, search, master) running in the same SIA while indexing ?

FYI: When you use UNV/UNX then Explorer indexes all metadatas + values (dim names, dim values, measure names) into indexes files.When you use BWA or HANA, only metadatas are indexed.