cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

soap -> PI -> rfc

former_member201275
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

I am new to PI webservices so i apologise in advance for my basic questions.

I need some help in understanding, at a high level, how to create the following PI webservice. I have been through many links on scn but this has just confused me more.

We are on sap pi 7.1

I have been given a URL, and an RFC function module. This is to be soap -> pi -> rfc. The rfc function has 2 import parameters, which it uses to create something in our backend system, and then 1 export parameter which is simply a message i.e. type BAPI_MSG.

Also I have been told it is not necessary to create an External Definition, instead I should create (in ESB), 2 service interfaces, and a message mapping, and thereafter the Config scenario. So, my first question, when I create the service interfaces i.e. 1 inbound and 1 outbound, and I type in the rfc fm and then click on the WSDL tab there is XML there generated from the rfc function. Is this correct or should I be generating the WSDL in this SI from the URL I have been given? 

Do i even need the url i have been given, because once i create the Sender Agreement i will generate a url from this and forward this to the client?

As this is soap -> pi -> rfc is this called ‘consuming a webservice? I am confused by the terminology.

Also, if anyone has any good links specific to what I need to do, for version 7.1, please send these.

Thank you in advance for all responses, I really appreciate the help.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

markangelo_dihiansan
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Glen,

A few comments.