Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BW on HANA - Value of HASH 1 partition on ODS

patrickbachmann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi folks,

I've been doing enterprise HANA on single node for past 3 years (prior to that a traditional BW developer for 10 years) and now recently our BW system was converted to BW on HANA and I'm starting to look into helping some of the BW guys performance tuning particularly with partitioning on the HANA modeling side of the BW system.  I've discovered that all of the ODS tables I'm looking at thus far are HASH 1 partitioned.  Our BW system is multi node so I'm wondering if that has anything to do with this whatsoever.  To me a HASH 1 partition is like not having a partition at all but rather like a single table with no partitions; wouldn't that be the same?  I'm sure it's something I'm just not familiar with yet and it's setup this way for a good reason (I hope!).

Thanks for any insight you may have on this.

-Patrick

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

lucas_oliveira
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hello Patrick,

Chances are that the landscape redistribution was not performed for this system or these DSOs are just too small to be considered for repartitioning/redistribution.

This redistribution process is either triggered during migration, manually at scheduled maintenance window or even automatized with SAP DDO now.

It is not recommended to change the partition specification manually (e.g. from a SQL Editor run 'alter table ...'). The redistribution process will take into account so many different variables that would be really unpleasant  for you to handle on your own.

There are quite a few discussions and blog posts here in SDN. Some of them will point into the recent FAQ about distribution which I find a great start (parallel to the Administration Guide):

2143736 - FAQ: SAP HANA Table Distribution for BW

More details on the landscape redistribution process can be found on the notes below: