cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Like we use div tags in HTML5 to get control of screen and layout designing, how can we achieve the same functionality in SAP UI5?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All!

I have a very basic question as I am still new to SAP UI5.
I have worked on HTML5, and there we can use <div> to divide the the screen in different pieces as per our requirement and then work on parts.

In UI5, how can I get the same functionality.
Like dividing screen into parts by specifying width and height of each part and then work on them independently.

If possible, please share a demo also.

Thanks.

Regards,

Prabhat

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

henriquemattos
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

Hi, Prabhat.

You have to understand, first of all, that SAPUI5/OPENUI5 deals with controls and not with tags. There's no need to try to manipulate HTML tags individually since the controls create the necessary scope for each case.

First of all, there are many controls to feature responsiveness and cross browser compatible layout. They use the grid span system, wide-used in the web nowadays.

Also, each control, like Tables, TextFields, TextAreas, Buttons, Labels and the advanced ones like UX3 Shell, Viz Charts, has thousands of features and complements already built-in, not to the mention that they already have their own CSS styles to begin with.

Let's assume you would like to have a table grid. In HTML you would have this sample code:

<table>

<thead>

<tr>  

<th>Col 1</th>

<th>Col 2</th>

</tr>

</thead>

<tbody>

<tr>

<td>Row 1 - Content 1</td>

<td>Row 2 - Content 2</td>

</tr>

</tbody>

</table>

Now, using SAPUI5 with Javascript notation, you would need to have something like:

var oTable = new sap.ui.table.Table({columns:[

new sap.ui.table.Column({text: 'Col 1'}),

new sap.ui.table.Column({text: 'Col 2'})

]});

oTable.addRow(new sap.ui.table.Row({

cells: [new sap.ui.commons.TextView({text: 'Row 1 - Content 1'}),