Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generic lookups

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm new to SAP generally and RFC/BAPIs/SAP-Tables specifically and I'm also not an ABAP Developer, so I apologize in advance if I'm using the wrong terminology, however, after a good experience in this forum, it seems like people here have the right knowledge/expertise that I need to accomplish what I'm trying to achieve.

------

I'm trying to figure out a generic way to get lookup values + text for fields in SAP programatically.

I already started implementing something based on domain names which can be found under DD03L and it does work well for short list domain names.

For longer lists however, I came across couple of challenges, querying CheckTable/CheckField does allow us to get to some correct values however:

1. It seems like from the SAP Windows client we are getting shorter list of values (potentially filtered) then what I'm getting from querying the table with the right language.

2. I can't seem to find a generic way to get the text description (the label of the value). For instance Exp_Type field in BAPITRMAIN table of BAPI_TRIP_CREATE_FROM_DATA which creates a Travel Expanse, points to check-table T706B1 and check-field MANDT, which returns the values, yet in this check-table there's no text description for the values. Furthermore, I couldn't find a clue on where to look for the text neither.

Any help in understanding how to create a generic lookup mechanism that would bring filtered values and text description would be highly appreciated!

Thanks,

Itzik

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

arivazhagan_sivasamy
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Itzik Spiten,

Text table for T706B1 is T706B5.