cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips required for Smooth Migration of SAP Sourcing Application

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am working as System Admin for SAP Souring Sytem. Currently our SAP Sourcing application is Hosted on SAP Hosting service. Now we are moving the SAP Sourcing application to an another Hosting environment provided by Secure-24.

Since I'm very new to this role, I would request suggestion/advises, precautions to be taken while the migrating the application to a new enviroment.

During our Kick-ff call, Engineers from Secure-24 have asked me about custom jar files, which I'm not aware. but we have customized certain features in the application through Scripting, I'm not sure whether he is talking about that, if not how to handle custom scripts during migration.

I would request all of you to provide your valuable inputs, suggestion to smooth migration. Please do let me know for any additional information if required.

Thanking you inadvance.

Regards,

Ashoka Ganji

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

former_member190023
Contributor
0 Kudos

Mostly you'll have to keep a close contact on effects of architectural changes:

• User store
    • SAP Hosting uses LDAP and if you switch to UME you'll have to setup:
      • align user policy with existing LDAP users (max username length)
      • general password policy
      • password reset option (+setup SMTP and config in NW)
      • NW login page has different appearance and might need adjusting
  • Contract generation server
    • SAP Hosting uses standalone server; cost-efficiency will dictate to use integrated server
      • make sure SAP Hosting executes the transition to integrated server (docx) before migration; in our case they 'forgot' .
      • integrated server significantly slower in our tests
  • Cluster config and public DNS address switch (if application is public)