cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrate from PB6.5 to PB12

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I am planning to migrate my application build using PB6.5 to PB12 or latest.

1. Should i be migrating to PB12 classic or .NET
  2. can i migrate directly from PB6.5 to PB12. or should i do intermediate migration  and if yes please suggest me the steps .
  3. i was not able to open PB6.5 files in PB10.
  4. i will be installing PB 12 in windows 2008 r2 machine.

i am pretty new to power builder.

thanks in advance for all replies and suggestion.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

chris_keating
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

This question would get a more PowerBuilder focused audience if you post this in the PowerBuilder SCN.

1. Should i be migrating to PB12 classic or .NET
    • Classic. That said, you may want to read up on the features of PB.Net to determine whether it offers value to your project requirements.
  2. can i migrate directly from PB6.5 to PB12. or should i do intermediate migration  and if yes please suggest me the steps 
    • You can directly go to PB12 - there is no requirement to do that migration version by version..   
  3. i was not able to open PB6.5 files in PB10.
    • You will need to elaborate on what you mean?  I recommend that you post this as a new PowerBuilder SCN discussion.
  4. i will be installing PB 12 in windows 2008 r2 machine.
    • PB 12.6 is only supported as a runtime (deployed app). Development on that platform is not supported. I am not sure if there are issues with developing on that platform but I believe that it has not been tested for that purpose.

Former Member
0 Kudos

I had migrated the code from PB6.5 tp PB12.6.

after migration i am facing an issue when ever do any opearion ona window ( like select,fetch ec) i get Error calling external function %s .

what could be the issue..

Thank in advance for the replies

chris_keating
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos