cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Json Model for Binding purpose.

Former Member
0 Kudos

HI All,

I am new to the binding concept. I read 'OpneUI5' demokit articals on model and Ui binding.

But i am running into trouble in implementing it on real time component.

Component Background.

I am developing FontChooser component, which has FontName Select, FontSize Select, B, I  and U button, colopicker and segmnted buttons for Alignment.

The basic component is have created and its working .

The other requirement is to place this fontchooser in responsive popover. This part also done.

The problem comes when i want to preserve the state of this controls, that is FontName, FontSize, B, I , U buttons.

The requirement is user clicks on text, popover comes up. Suppose he selects 'B' button, the text becomes Bold. Then responsive popover closes. Again if user opens it, since the text is 'Bold' i want 'B' button to be pressed/selected.

My thinking is using Json model should be the way to go.I Is there any other better approach? Please let me know.

can some share example of using json model in this context. It would be great help!!

regards

Fehmina.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Qualiture
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

That is indeed the correct approach. You should bind the state of anything you want to preserve to a model.

I.e.

<HBox>

<ToggleButton id="bold" text="Bold" pressed="{/isBold}"/>

<ToggleButton id="italic" text="Italic" pressed="{/isItalic}"/>

<ToggleButton id="underline" text="Underlined" pressed="{/isUnderline}"/>

</HBox>

would then be bound to your model:

var oModel = new sap.ui.model.json.JSONModel();

oModel.setData({

isBold : false,

isItalic : false,

isUnderline : true

});

this.getView().setModel(oModel);

this way you preserve the state of the buttons

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Robin,