cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MI Backend should it be on JAVA stack or basic R/3 is fine ?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi ,

I am new to MI . Just starting to a fresh implementation . My Basis guy has asked me one question . I have the front end --the Web application server[ABAP + JAVA] and the communication with the backend .. My question for the communication with the backend any R/3 system should be fine.I mean to say Java stack backend it not a must it can communicate with the ABAP stack also ..

Correct me incase I am wrong .

Regards

Abhi

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi abhi,

basically, an ABAP stack for MI server alone would suffice for data

synchronization. however for your NWA features to be usable, you

need to have a Java stack.

regards

jo

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Abhi,

Mixed mode between Non-Unicode and Unicode systems is not supported in MI to the extent of my knowledge.

To access Data from R/3 it doesnt matter whether u do that from a ABAP stack or Java stack as every request you need will be processed from ABAP stack itself.

For the convinience of your programming u can call it from Java stack also, then that request is sent from Java stack to ABAP stack through JCo (Java Connector) and the request is processed.

-

Do award, only if you feel the above is useful,,,

Regards,

myName

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Abhi,

You can refer to this link for more about MI.

Here is a fantastic references,documents,Blogs written by JO, which are very helpful.

http://jogel.blogspot.com/2006/07/learning-sap-mi.html

Cheers,

Karthick

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Abhi,

Adding to what JO has mentioned.

Middleware/server should have both JAVA and ABAP stack..mandatory.

But when it comes to Backend..if at all we are using a separate backend system ..i.e R/3 system, then it can be only ABAP stack (Java stack is not necessary)

Hope you are clear.

Cheers,