Skip to Content

Archived discussions are read-only. Learn more about SAP Q&A

Batch job Time zone for day light savings.

Hello Experts,

I am a functional consultant and need some help on an issue.

our system time is set to UTC(GMT) time zone. that means, when the daylight savings time is turned on/off, this time doesn't change.

we are having a situation where we want to run a batch job at a particular time and don't want to change it. Please note that the Batch user ID's system time zone is UTC/GMT and Batch user personal time zone is also UTC/GMT . But, in order to do that our basis team is suggesting us to create 2 batch jobs- naming one for EST and another for EDT, so that they can suspend and activate those jobs when necessary.

is there no other way to handle this situtation? can't we use the personal time zone in some way to run the batch jobs in EDT/EST without having to do the switch every 6 months?

Here's an example:

Batch User ID BATCH- system time zone- UTC/GMT, Personal time zone- UTC/GMT

During Daylight savings(EDT)

Current Batch job run time: 4 pm EDT, the Batch user BATCH runs the job at 20:00 hrs  GMT/UTC

After daylight savings(when the time turns to EST):

The Batch User BATCH will run the batch job at the same time 20:00 hrs GMT/UTC, that means the batch job run time in EST will be 3 pm EST, which we don't want to happen. the job should run at 4 pm EST.

NOTE: we don't use 3rd party system for job scheduling. we use only ECC job scheduling process

Please Let me know if anybody has encountered such issue or have any good ideas.

Former Member
Not what you were looking for? View more on this topic or Ask a question