cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Allowed file formats in DMS

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, I'm a basis consultant and I'm having some trouble with DMS consultant

It seems that our ERP 607 is not compatible with DOCD, XLSX, PPTX, VSDX files, because when we upload that kind of files we are not able to view them in integrated viewer

Has somebody useful information about this? any kind of comments?

thanks everybody

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

markus_deuter
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Juan Carlos,

if you mean DMS, you mean the transactions CV01N, CV02N, CV03N, right ?

Sometimes members think about GOS services and file attachments. This is completely different to solve.

Ok, within SAP DMS it is possible to manage all kind of files, independend of their formats.

But there is no SAP standard given ... even not for standard formats like the old or new kind of Microsoft Office formats.

You have to manage this by yourselves in the customizing !  

In transaction DC30 you can customize so called workstation applications (WsApp), that means, that you have do define application and their formats according to the action (view, change, print, ...)

I suggest, that you have perhaps still a mixture of old office formats and new office formats, right.

So you can define e.g.

DOC    Microsoft Word < V2003, *.doc

XLS     Microsoft Excel < V2003, *.xls

PPT     Microsoft PowerPoint < V2003, *.ppt

VSD     Microsoft Visio < V2003, *.vsd

DOX     Microsoft Word > V2007, *.docx

XLX     Microsoft Excel > V2007, *.xlsx

PPX     Microsoft PowerPoint > V2007, *, pptx

VSX     Microsoft Visio > V2007, *.vsdx

Here is an example how to configure DOC

Here is an example how to configure DOX

Note: take care on F1 help of option "You cannot rename temporary files". This is important of file types with extensions more than 3 characters.

These were the basics to mange the files with SAP DMS.