cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

error loading data from HANA with DBInput_Adapter

0 Kudos

Hello Colleagues,

I am new in ESP, just tried to load data from HANA into an input window with DBInput_Adaptor:

CREATE INPUT WINDOW EventsIn

SCHEMA (

SeqNo long,

UID string , IA_TYPE string , IA_ORIGIN string

)

PRIMARY KEY (SeqNo)

KEEP 2 HOURS

AUTOGENERATE ( SeqNo )

;

ATTACH INPUT ADAPTER HINTin

TYPE db_in

TO EventsIn

PROPERTIES service = 'hanaService' ,

table = 'ONE_AND_ONLY' ,

permutation = 'UID=ID:IA_TYPE=IA_TYPE:IA_ORIGIN=ID_ORIGIN' ;

And I got the following error while running the project:

ConnectionReader(EventsIn) error reading from Connection(HINTin): 2015-04-23 22:08:26 DBInput_Adapter::getNext() getData failed. 0 records consumed, 0 read, 0 bad, 0 good.

Error retrieving column 4 value from result set.

The table is defined in HANA as below:

create column table "ONE_AND_ONLY" (ID nvarchar(255), IA_TYPE nvarchar(20), ID_ORIGIN nvarchar(20));

Could you please help me with this problem?

Thanks a lot,

Tao

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

JWootton
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

You need to be sure you have defined a Data Service for the HANA database that you are trying to connect to.  Hopefully you are using the current version of ESP:  SP09 (or HANA smart data streaming SP09).  The service.xml file was used in older releases of ESP but has been replaced by the Data Service definitions that are managed from the Studio.

Be sure you:

1. Have installed the HANA ODBC driver on the same host where the ESP (or SDS) server will run

2. Define an ODBC DSN on that same server - giving it the HANA connection info

3. In the Streaming Development perspective of the Studio (either ESP Studio or HANA Studio with streaming plugin installed):  define a Data Service for the HANA database you will be connecting to

See this blog post for all the steps and details: http://scn.sap.com/docs/DOC-60817