Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Prospective SAP Student with a non-IT degree

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm a graduate of psychology and am currently working in an IT company under the learning support wing. I've facilitated numerous sessions covering SAP (just a facilitator and not a speaker) and it has gotten my interest to think about entering SAP.

As this is a big investment in career, time, and money, I wanted to ask current SAP professionals on how feasible is it for a psychology graduate to enter the world of SAP?

I was pondering on whether learning about BASIS or ABAP. I've read that BASIS deals more with system admin and ABAP has more to do with the developer /programmer role.

I'm pretty good with logic and coding and have always had a niche for computer technology and process improvement. Just recently i've started to take online courses in learning Python and I think that I will fit more comfortably in the development side of SAP.

I wanted to know your thoughts on my situation and whether it is a viable career move. My current company does not want to offer a mentoring session mainly because of the information involved in SAP is confidential and belongs to external accounts.

Any feedback would be of great help

-Paolo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jobis
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Paolo,

Its really interesting carreer move from Psychology to SAP, am sure you have very justifyable reasons for that.

As you have explored your logical and programming skills and is pretty confident and interested in it, surely you should look at ABAP or any related programing module in SAP.