cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

table splitting & Parallel export/import

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gurus,

To optimize over all migration time, I am planning to use table splitting using SWPM & parallel export/import using MIGMON.

thing is that I have never used these two options together before.

Can someone who has worked in such scenario provide some details on steps I can follow?

I have few questions around it:

Any special care needs to be taken while using table splitting & parallel export/import together?

how is the data consistency will be handled while import?

table splitting will split the tables in different STR files which will be unloaded parallely, however as soon as a package is exported .SGN file will signal that package for import, if that package is from splitted table, how does it will integrate all the packages for that splitted tables during import?

do we need to worry about it or MIGMON is smart enough to handle it by itself?

source - AIX/DB2 target - linux/DB2.

Best Regards

SB

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member182967
Active Contributor

Hello Sachin,

I did system migration with options table split (R3ta) and export/import in parallel (NFS) before.

So far, not so much considerations. (As you know, you should make test migration to find if there is any error during the whole process)

The sequence is Preparation for Table Splitting -> Export Preparation -> Database Instance Export.

Regarding to Export / Import in parallel, once the export structure is created, start sapinst to perform the target system import process. Source system export and target system import can be performed at the same time with migration monitor.

Sure, MIGMON can hand it (and you do not need to start migration monitor manually).

You can also refer to chapter Advanced Migration Technology in TADM70 SAP System: OS and DB Migration.

Regards,

Ning Tong

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos