cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP MDM 5.5 to MDM 7.1 Upgrade Impact

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am a portal consultant and new to SAP MDM. As MDM 5.5 is absolute we may need to upgrade MDM 5.5 to MDM 7.1

In our Landscape we are using MDM 5.5 and it is connected to Portal 7.0.  Please find the current Portal and MDM flow which we are using as mentioned below. Please let me know the impact of upgrade and please let me know what changes need to be done from portal side after MDM upgrade 7.1

Current Scenario:

1) We have stagging repository and actual repository in MDM. Daily we are getting records from BODS in an Xml format and sending it to stagging.

2) After records are sending it to stagging an application is validating checks for each record using an JAVA application which was developed using MDM JAVA API. The records which are matching the condition of checks those will be sent to actual repository which is end data.

3) We have created Portal iview of MDM Stagging repository which is showing the stagging repository there user can correct the error in the data then he/she can again click on release then again Check will be called with the help of that JAVA Application built on MDM Java API. if no errors are there all the fields will change from red to green then he can click on realease this will move the data to Actual Repository of MDM.

Note: Apart from this import Portal iview there are so many other portal iview which are created and all are having system object of MDM.

So Please let me know the impact of Upgrade. Anybody having idea on how those portal iviews are created in portal. Please provide me any sample tutorials.

So After upgrade does the custom JAVA Application which we devloed will work or not. If not what needs to be done.

Whether all the existing MDM portal iviews will work or not. If not what needs to be done.

Please guide me on this upgrade to proceed further as MDM is new to me.

Thanks,