cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transport Strategy for AS ABAP on HANA

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Folks,

I'm fairly new to HANA so please bear with me. We're building a SAP BW 7.4 on SAP HANA SPS08. I read that for the transport management in HANA, there are 3 scenarios:

How the SAP HANA Content Is UsedTransport Scenario
SAP HANA content for ABAP for SAP HANA applicationsHANA Transport Container (HTC)
SAP HANA content for native SAP HANA applications, or non-ABAP applications that are based on SAP HANA, if CTS+ is in use.Enhanced Change and Transport System (CTS)
SAP HANA content for native SAP HANA applications, if CTS+ is not in useSAP HANA Application Lifecycle Management

My questions are:

1. Does "SAP HANA content for native SAP HANA applications" mean that these are objects developed directly in the HANA studio (eg, modeler perspective, developer perspective and that these objects are completely independent of the objects in the AS ABAP that uses the HANA as database?

In which case, if I want to transport these objects to the QAS and PRD, I can either use one of the two below:

a. Enhanced Change and Transport System (CTS), if I already have this (this is also used for non-ABAP objects), and

b. SAP HANA Lifecycle Management, if I don't have CTS+

2. Does the HANA Transport Container only work for HANA contents for ABAP, or can I use this for 'contents for native HANA apps" as well? And if not, can these two methods co-exist with each other? And by this I meant,  they are both activated and can be used anytime.

Your inputs are very much appreciated. Thank you.

- ANG

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

daniel_noethe
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hi,

maybe a bit alte but here are my thoughts to your questions: