cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why my primary key column is not underlined?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi friends,

I'm very new with PowerDesigner and the data modeling and I'm playing with trial edition of PowerDesigner. I watched this video at youtube: www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YIae5mwmNU and I observed some difference between the video and my instance of PowerDesigner. (BTW, all my testing is in a Physical Data Model)

1. In the video, primary key columns have been underlined.

http://i.imgur.com/L3W1Vmp.png

And my testing is this:

http://i.imgur.com/rYu3J9m.png

Note that I've already set "id" as primary key column but it does not get underlined.

2. In the video, there is a "D" column, but as you see in the previous snapshot, my PowerDesigner doesn't have that column. What's the "D" column stand for?

http://i.imgur.com/Il8NvFw.png

3. The video author said, when we create relations between 2 entities, we need to drag from the child entity to the parent entity. The author actually drag from department entity to employee table and below is a snapshot from the video.

http://i.imgur.com/wwGl4VQ.png

But as I understand, the employee entity here should be considered as the child entity and the department entity should be parent entity. It's because each employee should have a department_id to represent which department he or she is in. Is my understand correct? Also after the author drag from department to employee, a new column "employee id" was added automatically to the department entity.

When I drag from employee to department, what I got is show in the following snapshot:

http://i.imgur.com/z1CosSe.png

As you can see, no new column has been added to the employee table and it just use the primary key column "id" as a foreign key column. That's apparently not correct. I've looked around in the software but still can't fix it.

Could anyone help me on my problems? Thank you in advance!

Accepted Solutions (1)