Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database Design/Modelling on SAP HANA

Roman71
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hello Colleagues,

in the past I worked as a "classical" SAP Architect in the ERP, SRM and SAP Portal area mostly with ABAP. My knowledge about modelling relational databases (in the SAP Area) is well. I know about normalization and how to design master and transaction data. I follow the SAP HANA track now since 2013 and really like it (maybe it is already a love). Whenever I have some time between my projects I work with SAP HANA and the surounding tools and technics. So now to my problem. Let´s asume we (I) want to create an application on SAP HANA. How do I model the data compared to a relational database? Can anybody explain how to model master and transaction data table on HANA. The question is about general rules how to model on in memory db compared to relational databases.

Any recommendations, tutorials, and readings are welcomen.

Thanks all for support.

Best regards

Roman

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Roman,

general speaking the relational data design is the same with SAP HANA as with any other RDBMS.

What's different is that with SAP HANA you can implement many functions that used to require intermediate tables (e.g. pre-aggregated or pre-joined data) as views.

This could be plain SQL or column views (information models).

The nice piece about the information models is that you can effectively create a view onto the data that looks like there is a completely different data model underneath. For example you can create analytic views that allow the classic OLAP operations (slice'n'dice, aggregate, filter by dimension etc.) based on plain 3rd normal form tables - straight from the application.