cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Failed to update service environment from user... in Windows Event Log.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hallo guys,

I am new to SAP Systems and SCN, so I hope my post is right here.

I have got a SAP IDES System running an Windows Server 2008 (SP2) Enterprise Edition.

This Server is a mamber of an Domain.

When I start the Windows Server I can see an SAP specific Error in the Windows Event Log under Applications.

The error ist following:

----------

Failed to update service environment from user (SAPIDES\hp2adm) environment. [ntservmgr.cpp 222]

Source: SAPHP2_01

----------

After start of the System in the SAP MMC I get further errors in syslog in the SAP MMC:

----------

SAP-Basis System: Operating system call  gethostbyname failed (error no. 11004)

USER: DDIC

Programm: SAPMSSY1

Process Type: D0

SAP-Basis System: Operating system call  gethostbyname failed (error no. 11004)

USER: DDIC

Programm: SAPMSSY1

Process Type: B13

Communications data: Could not send SLD data

Programm: RSLDAGDS

Process Type: B13

SAPIDES is the name of the System and hp2adm is a local user on this server.

The IDES System can be started and I can also log in to the System.

At the moment I don't know where to start the error analysis.

Please tell me if you need additional information.

Greetings

Martin

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member

hi,

I would prefer to get a more complete picture of your installation.

We differentiate between a local or a domain based installation.

A local installation is using a account created on the computer to run the system a domain installation is using a domain account.