cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installation of Solution Manager

Former Member
0 Kudos

Please understand that I am very new at this so if this question causes a laugh then I do not mind - as long as I get the clarification of where I am going wrong smile.

I need to install solution manager on V5R4. According to the latest on SAP that is version 4.0. However what is available is DB2/400 ASCII.

I want to do a UNICODE installation and as far as I know ASCII is non unicode - is this correct? I also want to be on Netweaver 2005 and not 04 or 04s.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Volker,

Thank-you for the information - I do appreciate it.

We unfortunately have no System i consultants here so we are self taught on the whole - we are going for Netweaver training next month (in house - as SAP academy here does not have the required training) but my installation cannot wait until then - I appreciate the explanations - and the training is only for Netweave - no System i training available. They could not even find a manual for us to get trained on when they tried!!

So next question from dummy - what is the difference between NW04 and 04s?

Anette

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Anette,

IBM offers a 4-day training course called "SAP Solutions on System i (Implementation & Operation)".

The redbooks linked from has a lot of valuable information. help.sap.com is another good resource.

Basically NW04 is based on NetWeaver/Basis 6.40, and NW 2004s is based on NetWeaver/Basis 7.0.

Best regards,

Victor

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank-you very much to everyone for all the answers and advice - I am one step closer (not sure to what smile).

Unfortunately IBM training here is even more laughable than SAP training!

Yep it is a brilliant red book - have found lots of useful info in it - wish there were more like this one, but I am sure it will come in the future.

Former Member